Karachi Premier League in full swing

By Syed Intikhab Ali - January 9, 2019

Karachi: Karachi Premier League (KPL), a fast growing popular T20 competition in the metropolis organized by Kreative Planet owned by Moiz Bin Zahid, has established its standard among competitive cricket competitions. Spectators have thronged the venue to see sensational T20 cricket.

The event is being organized at Asghar Ali Shah cricket stadium and a number of big names of Pakistani domestic cricket are participating. Till filing of this report the event had entered the finals stage. The final will be played on 12th January.

Muhammad Sami, Sohail Khan, and Fawad Alam are among the attractive faces for the spectators.

 Moiz established the KPL on strong foundations and is gradually increasing its standard.

He is thankful to PCB and KCCA for helping him organize the event in a successful manner. The event is being televised on PTV sports.

While talking to the Score Line, Moiz said that KPL is to promote and develop sports in Karachi on international standards and provide the audience with quality entertainment.

When he was talking about the prospects of KPL, former Pakistan captain Moin Khan’s son Azam launched an onslaught against the rival bowlers, hitting fast and spin bowlers for towering sixes. Unfortunately he got run out and could not complete his century.

The KPL CEO said that all big cricket teams in the city are participating in the event of which prize money is Rs. 5 laks. For the runners-up there is a prize of Rs. 2.5 laks. Mobile phones and motorbikes will also be distributed among the successful players.

The success of KPL can be judged from the fact that the event is being live telecast on national Sports channel and famous cricket experts like Ghulam Ali, Sadiq Mohammad are commentating during matches.

Moiz said Karachi Premier League exists to provide competitive play for any team in Karachi. KPL offers a league structure based solely on merit, he said.

“We believe in diversification. No biasness is tolerated. We as a team will always organize sports events which will always be entertaining and unique,” he said.

The eight participating teams are, F B Area Tigers, Malir Dolphins, Gulshan Stallions, Liyari Eagles, Clifton Lions, DHA Cougars, North Hawks, and Johar Bears.

As per details, 31 matches will be played. Each team will play seven matches. The semifinals are to be held on Friday, January 11, and the final on Saturday.

By Syed Intikhab Ali

Related Articles