PSL, IPL teams eye T20 Lanka Premier League

By Muhammad Asif Khan - August 25, 2020

KARACHI: Lanka Premier League, the franchised based domestic Twenty20 league of Sri Lanka, will have teams from renowned T20 extravaganzas like Indian Premier League (IPL), Pakistan Super League (PSL), Caribbean Premier League (CPL) and Canada GT20 League.

A well placed source in the LPL organising setup has revealed, to this correspondent, that a former PSL champion outfit had come aboard for the upcoming T20 league in Sri Lanka.

“Further details will be revealed in few days however a former PSL champion has consented to be a part of the Lanka Premier League”, the source said.

“By the first week of September an outfit from IPL, coming to the LPL, will also be revealed while a team each from CPL and GT20 Canada will also be known to public in due course”, the source added.

The new dates of the Lanka Premier League are from November 15th to December 10th which were announced by the Sri Lanka Cricket a few weeks ago. Earlier the T20 league was slated from August 28th.

“If the Pakistan Cricket Board goes for the remaining PSL5 matches during the same span then the schedule of the LPL could be altered”, the source concluded.

By Muhammad Asif Khan

Related Articles