Gul returns to Pakistan ODI squad, no place for Umar, Shahzad

August 9, 2016 | By

Pakistan selectors Tuesday recalled return-to-form paceman Umar Gul in their 15-man squad for the one-day series in Ireland and England but there was no place for indisciplined opener Ahmed Shahzad and Umar Akmal.

Pakistan will play two one-days in Ireland before crossing the sea to play five more against England. They also play one Twenty20 against England for which a squad will be named later.

Five players will return to Pakistan after completing the Test series with the final match starting at The Oval from Thursday.

They are skipper Misbah-ul-Haq, Younis Khan, Sohail Khan, Shanb Masood and Iftikhar Ahmed while opener Sami Aslam, pacer Rahat Ali and spinner Yasir Shah were retained.

Chief selector Inzamam-ul-Haq said Gul impressed in the trial matches.

“We have seen Gul in the practice matches and he has returned to full fitness and form so he has earned his place,” said Inzamam of the 32-year-old pacemen whose last match was against Bangladesh in Dhaka in April 2015.

Gul had a tie with Junaid Khan and lanky paceman Mohammad Irfan but won the place after impressing the selectors.

The selectors have also included 22-year-old allrounder Hasan Ali who took 20 wickets and contributed with bat on Pakistan “A” tour of England in July-August.

“We have selected some players from the A team like Sharjeel Khan and Hasan because w think that youngsters need exposure and they will get that in the series against England.”

Regarding Umar and Shahzad, Inzamam said they have to show willingness to play for Pakistan.

“We didn’t include Shehzad and Umar in the initial squad and we think that they need to improve their discipline which is the key when you are representing the country,” said Inzamam.

Also recalled is dashing opener Sharjeel Khan who did well in the Pakistan “A: series. Khan played the last of his 11 one-dayers in Sri Lanka in August two years ago.

Squad: Azhar Ali (captain), Sharjeel Khan, Sami Aslam, Mohammad Hafeez, Baber Azam, Shoaib Malik, Sarfraz Ahmad, Mohammad Rizwan, Mohammad Amir, Wahab Riaz, Hasan Ali, Umar Gul, Imad Wasim, Yasir Shah, Mohammad Nawaz

Shahid Hashmi

Shahid Hashmi is an author at ScoreLine and has written numerous cricket articles published at

Shahid Hashmi, a highly experienced and hard working journalist who has covered Cricket on mostly all major countries. He cares for Cricket and those who Play and Cover Cricket.

You can connect with Shahid on Facebook, LinkedIn or Twitter

Share This News:




    Your Cart
    Your cart is emptyReturn to Shop