Perry named ICC Cricketer of the Year

December 18, 2019 | By

Ellyse Perry has capped a stellar year of international cricket, winning the Rachael Heyhoe Flint Award as the ICC Women’s Cricketer of the Year while also named the ODI Cricketer of the Year.

This year’s annual ICC awards are dominated by the world No.1 Australians, with Alyssa Healy named T20I Cricketer of the Year, while a remarkable five Australians feature in the ICC’s ODI Tear of the Year, alongside four in the T20I side.

ICC Women’s Awards

Rachael Heyhoe Flint Award for ICC Women’s Cricketer of the Year: Ellyse Perry (Australia)

ICC Women’s ODI Player of the Year: Ellyse Perry (Australia)

ICC Women’s T20I Player of the Year: Alyssa Healy (Australia)

ICC Women’s Emerging Player of the Year: Chanida Sutthiruang (Thailand)

Aussie captain Meg Lanning has also been recognised, named captain of both Teams of the Year.

It is the second time in three years superstar allrounder Perry has been crowned the ICC’s top female player, after winning the inaugural Rachael Heyhoe Flint Award in 2017.

Perry took out the award for a dominant year in Tests and One-Day Internationals that included being named player of the series when Australia defended the Ashes on English soil in July.

It is the first time Perry has claimed the ODI award, having taken her one-day game to new heights this year.

She scored her first ODI century against New Zealand in Adelaide in February, following up with a second against West Indies in Antigua in September, while she claimed the best-ever ODI figures by an Australian when she took 7-22 against England in Canterbury in July.

Overall in ODIs in 2019, Perry hit 441 runs at 73.5, and collected 21 wickets at 13.52.

Share This News:




    Your Cart
    Your cart is emptyReturn to Shop