Jason Roy free to play in World Cup final despite umpire outburst

By ScoreLine Desk - July 12, 2019

*Birmingham:* England star Jason Roy has been cleared to play in Sunday’s
World Cup final against New Zealand despite showing dissent at an umpire’s
decision while helping the hosts book their place in the showpiece match.

The Surrey opener had made 85 to set England well on their way to an
eventual eight-wicket against Australia in Thursday’s semi-final at
Edgbaston, when he was given out caught behind down the legside off fast
bowler Pat Cummins by Sri Lankan umpire Kumar Dharmasena.

Roy requested a review but England had already squandered their lone review
of the innings with an unsuccessful attempt to overturn fellow opener Jonny
Bairstow’s lbw dismissal for 34.

Nevertheless, Dharmasena confusingly and incorrectly signalled for a
review, with Australia pointing out the official’s mistake.

Roy, his arms spread wide, clearly believed Dharmasena should have
signalled a wide delivery instead and the furious batsman had to be ushered
away from the crease by square leg umpire Marais Erasmus.

Eventually, a clearly unhappy Roy, whose tirade prompted television
broadcasters to apologise for his foul language, made his way back to the
pavilion, with England 147 for two in the 20th over.

Roy, who admitted the offence, was fined 30 percent of his match fee for
breaching that section of the International Cricket Council’s code of
conduct that prohibits showing dissent at an umpire’s decision.

The 28-year-old also received two demerit points from match referee Ranjan
Madugalle, taking his tally for the tournament to three following one-point
penalty he received for an audible obscenity after dropping a catch in a
group-stage match against Pakistan.

But match bans only kick in when a player collects four demerit points in
total leaving Roy, a key figure in Eoin Morgan’s side, available to feature
as England bid to win the World Cup for the first time.

*@AFP*

By ScoreLine Desk

Related Articles