Injured Taylor out of New Zealand ODI squad

January 25, 2016 | By

Wellington: Star New Zealand batsman Ross Taylor was Saturday ruled out of both the upcoming Pakistan and Australia one-day internationals after suffering a serious side strain.


Taylor was injured in Friday night’s third Twenty20 against Pakistan which New Zealand won by 95 runs to seal the series 2-1.


New Zealand Cricket said in a statement he had been ruled out of the matches against Pakistan and Australia but left open the possibility he would return for the two Tests against Australia in late February.


The good news for New Zealand was an indication that big-hitting skipper Brendon McCullum would return for the third match against Pakistan onJanuary 31.


McCullum has been sidelined with a back complaint since late last year and missed the last three ODIs in the Sri Lanka series.


All-rounders Corey Anderson and Grant Elliott return to the ODI squad after missing the Sri Lanka matches because of injury, and Test wicketkeeper BJ Watling will replace Luke Ronchi after the first Pakistan ODI on Monday


“We’ve talked about the importance of creating depth in all positions and bringing BJ into the side for the second and third ODI will give him some time against the white ball,” coach Mike Hesson said.


Colin Munro, who scored half-centuries against Pakistan and Sri Lanka in the Twenty20s, has been added to the ODI squad with Mitch Santner the only recognised spinner.


“Colin was impressive with the bat during the recent Twenty20 series, but he’s also selected on his ability to give us another option with the ball,” Hesson said.


“With the pitches we’re playing on we’ve opted for the one spin option. It gives Mitch Santner more responsibility as he’ll likely be asked to bowl more overs, which will be a good opportunity for his development.”


New Zealand ODI squad:

Martin Guptill, Tom Latham (first two ODIs), Brendon McCullum (third ODI), Kane Williamson, Colin Munro, Henry Nicholls, Grant Elliott, Corey Anderson, Luke Ronchi (first ODI), BJ Watling (second and third ODIs), Mitchell Santner, Adam Milne, Matt Henry, Trent Boult, Mitchell McClenaghan.AFP

Share This News:




    Your Cart
    Your cart is emptyReturn to Shop