Consortium of Alamgir Tareen and Ali Tareen win rights of sixth PSL team for seven years

By ScoreLine Desk - December 20, 2018

Lahore – December 20, 2018:    The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) has awarded the franchise rights of the sixth Pakistan Super League (PSL) team to the consortium of Alamgir Tareen and Ali Tareen for the next seven years following the conclusion of the bidding process in which the winning bid was more than the reserve price of $5.21 million per annum.

Commenting on the successful sale of the franchise rights, PCB Chairman Mr. Ehsan Mani said this was a key step in the growth of the HBL PSL brand.

“I would like to welcome the Multan Consortium of Alamgir Tareen and Ali Tareen to our HBL PSL family,” said Mr. Mani, adding: “The consortium includes passionate cricket patrons who are keen to work with PCB to make HBL PSL a bigger brand. It is also heartening to note that they plan to provide a platform for young cricketing talent.

A delighted Mr Ali Tareen said: “Our goal was to retain the sixth PSL franchise in South Punjab and we have succeeded in that. We want to focus on developing cricket in the region and bringing more players from the region to the top level. The PSL is not only a platform for entertainment but also for cricket development.”

Pakistan Super League 2019 will kick off in Dubai on 14 February 2019, while Multan Consortium will play their opening match on Friday, 15 February, against Karachi Kings.

Their complete schedule of matches is:

Friday, 15 February – v Karachi Kings, Dubai

Saturday, 16 February – v Islamabad United, Dubai

Wednesday, 20 February – v Quetta Gladiators, Sharjah

Friday, 22 February – v Lahore Qalandars, Sharjah

Sunday, 24 February – v Peshawar Zalmi, Sharjah

Tuesday, 26 February – v Islamabad United, Dubai

Thursday, 28 February – Peshawar Zalmi, Dubai

Friday, 1 March – v Quetta Gladiators, Dubai

Monday, 4 March – v Karachi Kings, Abu Dhabi

Sunday, 10 March – v Lahore Qalandars, Lahore

Their squad is:

Shoaib Malik (captain), Ali Shafiq, Dan Christian, Joe Denly, Laurie Evans, Irfan Khan, Junaid Khan, Mohamad Abbas, Mohamad Junaid, Mohammad Irfan, Mohammad Illyas, Tom Moores,, Nauman Ali, Nicholas Pooran, Shahid Afridi, Shakeel Ansar, Shan Masood, Steve Smith, Umar Siddiq and Qais Ahmed.

Courtesy: PCB

By ScoreLine Desk

Related Articles